What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to crop to a set proportion and not shrink the image... HELP!!!!

shottybot

Okay, so I have been searching for this for days now and am totally stuck (and I'm pretty adept at computer usage and searching, for reference, I'm 25, a decent gamer, recently graduated from school with a degree in Architecture, and built my own pc so I have some decent knowledge about this..). It could be that I am using the wrong terms to search or it could just be that there isn't an answer out there.

I am currently putting together a book of my thesis and need to re-crop many of the images that I've used and taken. The problem is that I would like to crop the images to a set proportion of the golden ratio, golden mean, divine whatever- all the same thing, basically a ratio of 1:1.618 (roughly).

I used to do this with no issue (I think) a few photoshop versions back (maybe back towards CS2 or something, but as things have drastically changed (now running CS5.5) I am a little stuck. Whenever I select the crop tool, I try and input a fixed width and height of 1.618:1 or vice-versa depending on the image orientation- and leave the resolution blank. A long time ago, I seem to remember cropping the image with the tool and it was a fixed ratio as it is now, only before, the image did not drop from say 11x14 to 1x1.618 and blow up in resolution size. It maintained the image size and resolution and cut the excess off the smaller length generally.