What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to make these globes? (Pls see picture)

GPS

Hi Folks,

I am studying PS and using the attached file to learn new techniques. The file is from Digital Art.org by Mark Sedgwick.

I am a bit stuck on how the blue semi transparent globes were made. I can get close, but I can't seem to get it right especially the white/pink highlight on each. I have tried making a brush, but it doesn't capture the multicolor aspects. I'll spare you the long list of things that didn't quite work that I have done.

Can anyone suggest the most efficient way to lay down dozens of these globes in different sizes, as the artist has done, while keeping the colors and semi transparent qualities?

Many thanks!:)

Attachments

• celestial-ikon-0271.jpg
    celestial-ikon-0271.jpg
    195.7 KB · Views: 11
Welcome, GPS.

Your on the right track actually with the pink/white hilite...... What I can suggest is use three brushes of different sizes each on it's own layers .... First layer - 30pixels - hot pink . 2nd layer - 27pixels - 100%white . 3rd layer - 20 pixels - 100%white. Group and play around with the opacity of layer 1 & 2.

Make copies of the group set to transform or change appearance/intensity.

Hope this helps...

Hi dv8,

Thanks for the quick reply! Ok I am trying to follow your thought.