What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Inconsistent Spray Patterns with Airbrush in CS4

Hello everybody. I just wanted to congratulate you folks on the fine PS resources that you provide.

I'm having problems maintaining consistent performance as far as the density and consistency of the spray pattern is concerned.

A little Background: I'm an illustrator that paints with CS4, using a Wacom Intuos 4 with the standard stylus. I'm running CS4 on a MacBookPro 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo with 4.0GB 1067 DDR3 memory.

Description of problem:

I select the 300 diameter airbrush from the brush menu and leave the presets at their default settings (i.e. only Other Dynamics and and Airbrush ticked etc). The only adjustments that I make after selecting the brush are to change the flow to 17% and to adjust the diameter of the brush on the fly as needed.

At first everything worked smoothly and i was able to get a luscious creamy spray that made it easy to draw metallic surfaces, and to render/blend colors/tones in a really slick manner.

Lately however, (and this is my problem) the brush projects a crude spay that is very dark (despite the 17 flow setting), crude and difficult to blend and draw with.

I've checked the brush settings and nothing has changed. In fact sometimes this change from fine spray to crude spray happens mid-drawing and back again.

I've experimented with all of the presets and brush tip settings but it never cures the problem. Then a couple of days the beautiful spray pattern returns, despite the changes that I'd!

Can someone please tell me how to get the airbrush tool to perform consistenly. It's turning me into a stress monkey!

Thanking you in advance,