What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Learning Illustrator

JeffK

Guru
Hello all:
I'm primarily a Photoshop user - mostly self taught and a contributor to the PS forum here.
I've decided to add Illustrator to my workflow. I've been watching YouTube videos and searching for forums that can help me along the way.
For whatever reason, most of the videos I'm finding are visual only with no narration. So I'm slowing the vids down to more carefully watch.
As far as forums, I'm not having any luck. Since joining PS Gurus, I've learned quite a bit watching and participating but I can seem to replicate that in Illustrator.
So two questions:
1) What would you recommend as go-to videos/instructors to start picking up the essentials of Illustrator?
(would love it if I could find teachers like Unmesh Dinda, Aaron Nace, and Jesus Ramirez for instance)
2) What forums would you recommend that closely replicate the community that we have here on PS Gurus?
I realize there's a learning curve and willing to take my time. Just need a decent road map to follow.
Thanks for any help and guidance!
- Jeff

thebestcpu

Guru
Hi @JeffK
I use LinkedIn learning and the have a free trial.
A course I recommend is their Illustrator 2021 Essential Training course
It goes through Illustrator step by step in a series of narrated videos with each video being only a few minutes each (so you don't go on overload).
Adding up all of the videos in this course it is over 5 hours long.
It all depends on how you best learn e.g. videos, books, etc yet
Here is the link to that particular training course:
https://www.linkedin.com/learning/illustrator-2021-essential-training