What's new

Need help with having a layer only go over another layer and delete the rest of it

PWD

Hello Photoshop Gurus,

Newbie here, probably really simple but I cannot seem to figure this out, I want to have only one part of a layer go over another, and delete the rest of the layer,

Here are some pictures of what I mean:

e1ed27d5b7ff1ff40c24e70e45060a7a.png

I want the selection to only go over the V and the surrounding curves around it, and delete the rest of the selection.

The reason I want this deleted is because I'm using it for an overlay and you can see the entire layer although it's opaque.

Thanks,

PWD

gedstar

Guru
Re: Need help with having a layer only go over another layer and delete the rest of i

Hi and Welcome to PSG

Not sure if this is what you're after
Just make a selection with the Pen Tool and right click and select Make Selection
Untitled1.jpg

Then hit CTRL J to copy that selection to a new layer and turn off the original layer
Untitled2.jpg

PWD

Re: Need help with having a layer only go over another layer and delete the rest of i

I want to get rid of the black space, I only want the part of the curve that goes over the V and delete the black space.

gedstar

Guru

OK like this?

Untitled3.jpg

PWD

Kinda, keeping the rest of the V and the curves,

gedstar

Guru

Something like this
Untitled4.jpg

PWD

Yes... I think,

PWD

Just tell me how you did it and i'll see, does it look like there was a color/gradient change?

gedstar

Guru

I used the Magic Eraser Tool to get rid of the black
Untitled6.jpg

Then I used the Pen Tool in shape mode to draw a new shape with no fill and changed the stroke to dotted lines
Untitled5.jpg

PWD

Hmm, thats not quite what I want, here's a better way for me to describe it:
28c3b451e778d88df4d6086c80522733.png

The lighter color change on the V and the curves beside the V I want to keep, but the white space surrounding the V and the curves besides it I want gone,

gedstar

Guru