What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ongoing attempt at Digital Painting

webwize

Hi All

I thought I would start a thread that follows my attempt to draw an image, put it into Photoshop and color it. My hope is that along the way I can get some hints, tips, pointers to useful tutorials and constructive criticism... Then at the end of it all a picture I am proud of :) (Perhaps even give some help/ideas to others who are interested in similar things)

From the start I would like to say I am no artist so this is pretty out of my comfort zone, the idea came from one of the challenges on this forum (#20 I think). I'm following a tutorial of sorts from a book called "The Monster Book of Manga - Fairies and Magical Creatures)" so the character is not my own but along the way I hope to develop it into something a little more personal to me.

I don't know how long this will take as I don't get much spare time but each time I make some significant changes to the picture I will post the results in this thread.

Image #1 is the untouched scan of the drawing I have done, originally I wanted to do the whole thing in Photoshop including the sketch but I just didn't have the skills :(

It's fairly obvious when you see this that I haven't managed to get started on the hands or feet yet, I'm hoping to sort those out a little later (with a little help from youtube). To help with the digital inking process I have already "pre-inked" the image and got rid of most of my pencil lines.

Here goes - feel free to comment as you wish

FirstScan1211.jpg

webwize