What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pixelation of shape layers

dsammond

Hi Gurus,

I'm just getting started with PhotoShop and I've noticed that when I create custom shape layers, the fill is often noticeably pixelated. I know that PhotoShop is generally a raster based tool, but my understanding is that the shape layers are created as vector graphics. I don't see the same pixelation in the tutorial I'm following, so I'm wondering if there is a setting that I could adjust to get rid of the jagged edges.

My canvas is set at 5 x 7 in. so I don't think I'm zooming in too much.

Thanks for any help.

Doug

Boomawoom

Make sure you have anti-alias turned on (the tick box next to opacity on the top tool bar when you have the shape tool selected).

dsammond

Thanks for the quick response! That sounds like a reasonable solution, but in shape mode I don't see the anti-alias or opacity functions on my toolbar. Do I need to manually add those in preferences (or somewhere)?

Boomawoom

Untitled-1.jpg

That's where it is on mine. I'm using CS5 so it might be in a different place if you're using a different version. Also the left circle was made with aniti-alias turn on and the right with it turned off, I'm guessing yours looks like the one on the right?

dsammond

My tool bar is missing that stuff. I have a picture file of my screen, but can't figure out how to post to here. How did you add the image above?

Boomawoom

Click on "go advance" next to "submit reply" (or something like that) then click the paper clip thing to add an attachment, upload it, click on it so it's ticked, then click "insert inline" at the bottom right corner.

Boomawoom