What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trying to understand resolution and pixels...help please!

Kristine

I have read numerous articles and tutorials regarding image quality though I still can't quite get my head around it so thought I'd join a forum to ask a specific question so an expert could help clarify things for me - hopefully!
I am not new to Photoshop though I use it sparingly and am not a particularly techie-minded person so please bear with me.
I am an interior designer and often download free personal use images (usually vintage illustrations) to print and frame as wall art. Once I download an image, I open it in Photoshop to check the image size and resolution. Depending on the source this can vary greatly, anything from 72ppi to 300ppi and 5x5cm to 150x150cm.
My main confusion comes from understanding how an image will look once printed, particularly if I enlarge it. If I select View>Print Size, will the quality it appears on my monitor reflect the quality it will appear once printed?
I previously printed a large-scale map which was only 72ppi and it came out great, though I've often heard it said that 300ppi should be the minimum?