What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why person A looks different than person B?

relboon

Hi.
I'm sorry if that is not the right place for this question, please point me to where it should be.
I'm a noob practicing for fun and here is a picture where the guy looks like he was cut out from a different photo than the girl (he was).
I don't understand why. I've tried playing with luminosity, brightness, saturation... but it just seems like his whites are too white...or... I don't know, something. I'm not a painter and I can't put my finger on it, I just see that they are different and I can't tell why.
So why do they look so and how can I make the guy look like a natural part of the photo?

thank you.
grayv.jpg

Hello and welcome to PSG.

The number one largest factor in completing a realistic face or head swap is in choosing the right face to exchange in the photo! You have not chosen the right face to swap out. The main issue is that the lighting is wrong. While some of this might be adjusted or "faked", you will have a difficult time blending this guy into this photo with any realism. It will be an exercise in failure.

What are the conditions of the original photo that need to be matched? Whatever photos you choose for your face swap, make sure they are similar in size, color, luminance/brightness, resolution/grain, angles, and lighting.

Look at the lighting on her compared to the lighting on the "swap face", are they close? Where is the light source coming from in the photo? Is it the same on the "swap face"? The idea is to choose a "swap face" that matches the conditions of the photo as closely as possible.