What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tab Color issue

cptrainer01

This is my first time making a site with tabs. I thought I could create each page with a colored tab for the selected page in Photoshop then upload each pages html and images and the tab color would change w/ each selected page. Was I correct in thinking this?

I have also been having problems with the domain host (Fatcow) it's been screwy with the site. Just doing a simple upload has been an issue.

I attached an image of what the tabs look like. I uploaded the about page and "properties owned" html and images. As you can see both tabs are colored in for each page. It should only turn green with the selected page.
TAB color.jpg

chrisatlemon

Ok, here's the usual way to organise a page like yours in basic format:

1) create one HTML page and save all associated files like images, CSS, scripts etc in subfolders relative to the pages' root directory. This is your template. From this template you will create all other pages.
2) have two images per tab, one active state and one passive state
3) give a class to each tab, And give an ID to the "active" tab on each page. So on the about page the "about" tab would be the active one (I usually call it "current") e.g.:

<div class="tab">Home</div>
<div id="current">About</div>
<div class="tab">Contact</div>
<div class="tab">Whatever</div>

4) set one of the green background is for calss="tab", set the active tab background for id="current"

5) do this for all pages, so on the contact page for example it would look like so:

<div class="tab">Home</div>
<div class="tab">About</div>
<div id="current">Contact</div>
<div class="tab">Whatever</div>