What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tips on web design :

annarobert

Banned
I am new in the web design field. please can anyone give me some important tips on web design.So that my website will look good.........

Last edited:

ticalico

Well, I would most likely start learning HTML/XHTML. A good place to start would be W3 SCHOOLS probably one of the best resource for beginners as well as experts.

They teach you step by step from the beginning. Start with HTML, then XHTML, then move on to CSS.

Or you could just work with Wordpress ;)

ChrisHPZ

Power User
To expand on ticalico's post, one of the best tips I can offer you is to know your audience. When a website is designed, it is always determined what kind of people will be viewing the website. This also determines how the website is going to look in terms of aesthetics. Colors, color theory and psychology play a huge part in this part of the process. An example I can give you is of something I made over the weekend. I have a portfolio website which showcases the best of my work. On one of the child pages is a section for website templates. One of those templates is meant for a coffee shop somewhere in the world. The colors I used are brown with variations in tints and shades. Coffee is brown, so when a user visits a site like this, I want them to start thinking about coffee. Do you see where I'm going with this? I use colors that are related to the subject matter of the website I'm working on whether it's a real world project or something to be based on. Click on the little image thumbnails to be taken to the actual html based website template.

http://www.cdemarco.com/webdesign.html

EricKSlade

Banned