What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Oil Painting of My Girlfriend. PSCS5 Mixer Brush and Pixel Bender Way.

MightyZeus

This is my seventh attempt at using the mixer brush and for the first time I think that I've finally grasped it's potential and wits. I used the pixel bender plugin for the background and her hair and for her face I painstakingly had to trace every detail of her face. I'd appreciate your criticism on the matter as I stated I'm fairly new to PSCS5, after I found out about this feature I migrated from Corel Paint Pro. X. Feedback please, I want to grow in PSCS5.

Attachments

• ANITAWAM.jpg
    ANITAWAM.jpg
    285.8 KB · Views: 8
  • anita2.jpg
    anita2.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 10

MightyZeus

By the way I blurred all the edges on her picture as paintings don't have sharp edges.

MightyZeus

Thanks Hoogle, but I'd appreciate way's of making it look better or other techniques you pro's would have gone for. I'm really looking for a critique. Any better techniques or suggestions, anyone?

Vafann

Guru
Now that I´ve looked some more at it, maybe you could ad a bit of the shininess of her lips that the photo had before?

ibclare

Queen Bee
My take: very nice. I'm impressed. My only suggestion is that you put the same luminosity into her face that you gave the background. Maybe even draw the BG down a bit to keep it more BG -- my eye gets drawn away from her face.. For eg: her eyes have lost the shine they have in the photo and even her hair could use some shimmer. But hey, I've got to try this, it's a beautiful technique.

MightyZeus