+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By JnthnMtthws
  • 2 Post By ibclare
  • 1 Post By Tom Mann

Thread: First ever recolour of a B&W Photograph...

Thanks

First ever recolour of a B&W Photograph...

I've fancied doing a recolour for some time, I used no tutorials just what I knew already on PhotoShop. The image is really simple with not a lot going on, its off Google (I take no credit for the photography).

Tell me what I did wrong or right? As I have no knowledge in recolouring this is all just guess work and I would like to improve greatly!

I'll appreciate your feedback ;D
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails First ever recolour of a B&W Photograph...-oliver-rath-old-portrait-1.jpg  

First ever recolour of a B&W Photograph...-untitled-2.jpg  

ibclare and ALB68 like this.

Queen Bee
    Thanks

Re: First ever recolour of a B&W Photograph...

Well done. I would say the skin tones lack a bit of luster and variation. They might benefit from some saturation or deeper color. Maybe some ruddiness here and there. Few people attain his age without some patchy color developing. For some reason, and I can't out my finger on it, the hair is not convincing. I'm sure someone with more experience can point you to a way to enhance that. The sweater looks great. The shirt is OK. I think I would have done just a bit of dodging on the face and the watchband. The way I do this is to make a 50% grey layer above, set it to overly or soft light, then use the dodge tool. This way it is nondestructive.
    Photoshop Gurus Site Rules

3 Ps of PS: perseverance, practice, & play!

Queen Bee
    Thanks