What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Create a white border around round object

steves

Hi there,

I am a relative newbie to photoshop - I am trying to create a border around a logo that has rounded edges. I have used to stroke tool and it creates the border. However, when I try and save it and use it it still has square edges.

How do I get rid of the square edges?

Thanks!

Welcome to PSGurus, steves.

Use the rectangle shape tool with rounded edges to create your border and use the stroke tool for the border. You can adjust the radius of the rounded edges to suit your need.

Hope this is what you need.

Thanks for the reply!

I did try that as per a website which went through the steps, but once I save it as a jpeg it still has the square edges! :confused:

The canvass was larger than the actual image, so would that explain why?

Am I missing something ridiculously simple here?!

You'll have to excuse my stupid questions, but how does one go about this?

I really am new to all of this so if you could give me an idiots step-by-step on how it's done I would be super grateful!

I currently have the logo opened, and the canvass is the size of the logo..

Sorry..... was somewhere else....lol

No worries mate. Take it step by step.

I don't have PS in front of me right now so I'm doing this from memory.... right click the shape layer.... select raterize layer.....

Hope I got that right.

No worries! :)

Good memory!!