What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Save jpeg at quality 10 vs 12...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darren

I am new to photoshop and am curious to see what quality setting others use when saving photos as jpeg.

The size difference between saving at 10 and 12 is almost 3 times the size, I see no quality loss when saving at quality 10.

I have some photos that are original size of around 5mb, after editing the photos saving at quality 10 gives a file size of around 5mb while quality 12 a file size of around 12mb-15mb.

Save the same image twice. Once at quality=10, and once at 12. Bring both into PS on separate layers. Set the blend mode of the upper layer to subtract or difference. Next, put a "levels" adjustment layer on top of that. Bring in the RH slider to lighten up the difference between the lower two layers.

You'll be able to see the difference using the above technique, but it will be quite small, and completely negligible for most uses. That being said, if I want to save an image in a form that's readable by everyone in the world, will likely continue to be readable for decades by future software, and don't want to save another copy as a tif or bmp, I'll save it as a quality 12 JPG.

T

I try to save everything tif(unless the image not important to me) JPEG loses quality even just changing from one hard drive to another even at quality 12 it will still lose.just saying....