What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Art Deco retro poster help

Hi I'm new here. I'm by no means a beginner but I'm not an expert either and there's still some areas of photoshop that I'm still unsure about. However I learn by experimenting.

I'm a big fan of retro style posters, particularly ones from the 1930s/1940s or appearing to look like from that era.

I've been trying to design some artwork to look like that but don't know how to get the 'human block effect' and the grainy gradient effect.

Does anyone have any tips of how to get about this? I'm not asking for a step by step guide because that would take too long for you. Just any advice that will get me started.

I'd like to add that I'm not trying to copy the following images and claim artistic license, I'm just merely wanting to recreate that style.

Here are some example images.

Thanks.

Attachments

• Art-Deco-Iron-Man.png
    Art-Deco-Iron-Man.png
    472.3 KB · Views: 22
  • IronMan_by_Design_Deco_Works_by_Deadlydelmundo.jpg
    IronMan_by_Design_Deco_Works_by_Deadlydelmundo.jpg
    141.3 KB · Views: 0
  • Poster_1.jpg
    Poster_1.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 0
  • rocketeer__span.jpg
    rocketeer__span.jpg
    168.8 KB · Views: 2
  • bugler-on-helmed-head.jpg
    bugler-on-helmed-head.jpg
    133.7 KB · Views: 22
  • dawn-of-a-new-age-by-tim-huhn.jpg
    dawn-of-a-new-age-by-tim-huhn.jpg
    60.1 KB · Views: 22
would it be wise do to a sketch by hand on A4, scan it...open it with PS, then fill in the colours and apply gradient layers on top? I'm not sure how to create curved blocks using the pen tool?