What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How do I remove this?

bluewomble88

Hi

My best friend sent me these 2 photos and wants the picture frame in the background removed.

What is the easiest way to do it on PS6 whilst making it look natural?
I'm still quite new to this but I'm very eager to learn.

Thank you for your help.

10266863_10151921391366706_551158873_o.jpg

10272952_10151921392516706_2126187055_o.jpg

Hi bluewomble88 and welcome to PSG.

What is your current experience level with Photoshop on a 1 to 10 scale, 10 being advanced?

I would say either 3 or 4.
I understand about 70% of the tools and all about layers. Haven't touched masks yet though.
I have tried using clone stamp which works to a point but I'd like the wall to look natural after. When I do it you can see there was something there before.

How are you at removing backgrounds?

Ok, on this image, I would make a selection of the area I have in red, including isolating the cake in that area (which I did not do) and then just replace the BG.

Use a mask. Once you have your selection just hit the Add Layer Mask icon located in the bottom left hand corner of the layers panel.

Screen Shot 2014-04-16 at 4.04.19 PM.png

Do the same for the other image like this....

On this one I roughed out the cake.
Screen Shot 2014-04-16 at 4.12.36 PM.png

EDIT: Don't forget to add back the shadow on both!

Hello

Please forgive my ignorance and I plead for your patience.

I followed your steps and this is what I'm left with. How do I actually remove the picture frame from here?

Many thanks.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 21.20.21.png