Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Unhappy CS2 on windows 8

    Howdy,
    I'm trying to run CS2 on Win 8.
    Had no problem loading it and it does run but some of the tools ,while
    they can be selected they don't perform their function. (ex. brush, clone,eraser).
    All other functions seem ok.
    Anyone else been able to get the old cowboy to ride the new pony ?

  2. #2
    Administrator Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NJ & FL, USA
    Posts
    6,929
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    Well it may not be compatible although this is the first time I heard this.
    I don't have CS2 or run Win8, but there are couple of things you can try.

    First make sure you video card driver is up to date.

    Try resetting the preferences file.
    It cures a lot of strange behavior in PS.


    Start Photoshop and immediately hold down Ctrl+Alt+Shift (Windows)
    or Command+Option+Shift (Mac OS X).


    Then, click Yes to the message, "Delete the Adobe Photoshop Settings file?"

    I doubt these will help but try it anyway.
    Try running CS2 in compatibility mode, experiment with different settings.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    Thanks for the quick reply Steve.
    I deleted the setting file, but no change.
    I'm not familiar with the compatibility mode.

  4. #4
    Administrator Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NJ & FL, USA
    Posts
    6,929
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    I should have been more specific, it's a Windows setting not PS.
    Navigate to Photoshop.exe, right click on it and select Properties then Compatibility.

    -untitled-1-jpg
    Then try different settings, good luck.

  5. #5
    Queen Bee ibclare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    10,816
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    And good luck to you. There's one other thing you might try after you see how Steve's advice works. I'm having trouble with cs6 on win8 and so are a lot of others. I've been scouring the forums for answers and finally found most of the behaviours described. There is a suggestion from a number of experts that unchecking "use graphics processor" or resetting drawing mode to basic will work. These can be found in preferences>performance. You'll see the use graphics processor settings and if you click the advanced settings you'll find the drawing mode. I did reset this to basic and it seems to have cleared my problems. We'll see. But don't do any of those changes till you see how the compatibility solution works.
    Photoshop Gurus Site Rules

    3 Ps of PS: perseverance, patience, & play!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    Thanks again Steve.
    I tried all the possibilities from 95 to win 7 with no luck.
    Before I bought this laptop I was running cs2 fine on win 7.
    Strange that I can select a brush , be able to resize it, but
    it will not paint, same with clone etc.
    Well at lesat I learned a couple of things from ya.
    Thanks again.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    Thanks ibclare, I appreciate your efforts, unfortunately I don't have a "performance" selection
    under edit/preferences in CS2.

  8. #8
    Administrator Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    NJ & FL, USA
    Posts
    6,929
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    65 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    Try running in safe mode, you may get an error or two but it should run.
    If it dous you can us msconfg to start disableing programs that automatically start when windows starts

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    Well folks , it turn out that my Wacom tablet was causing the problem.
    When I attempted to start cs2 in safe mode I got a tablet driver error.
    Unplugged the tablet and whamo problem solved.
    Just one problem remains, probably an easy fix I don't know about,
    when using the brush or eraser etc. instead of the circle to work with I get the symbol for the tool I am using.
    The tools work normally, but I would like to have the circle back.
    Thank you for your help. A great welcome to this forum.
    Last edited by tinosa; 04-18-2013 at 11:27 PM. Reason: oops

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

    Re: CS2 on windows 8

    I found the display preference to fix my final problem.
    It's a wonder full world ! !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Photoshop Gurus
Photoshop Gurus (PSG) is a friendly community of designers and artists who enjoy all things related to Photoshop. PSG can consider itself one of the oldest Photoshop sites and has recently had it's 10th anniversary. We've come a long way and have every intention to continue supporting the Photoshop community. Photoshop can be an overwhelming program for beginners and that's how we try to help. We have a friendly forum, tutorials and all resources to help you understand this wonderful program. Feel free to look around and if you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. Happy browsing!