What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

reduce file size of 1,400 pics at once

sifa123

I'm a newbie here, and hope that some of your expertise can help me out.

I just got back from a trip where I took about 1,400 pics (Nikon D300) each of which is about 2.4mb. How can I save them in bulk to a smaller file size? I need to send them unedited to my Daughter so she can look them over and tell me which ones she wants.

Thanks for any ideas.

Action, then Batch

Hi!

1. Put all your large files in one folder.
2. Create a second, empty folder for the smaller files.
3. In Photoshop, open one of your photos and open the Actions panel.
4. Press the "Create new action" icon at the bottom of the Actions panel. Give your action an appropriate name.
5. Image > Image Size.
6. Reduce the image size as you wish.
7. In the Actions panel, press the "Stop playing/recording" icon.
8. Close the file without saving.
9. File > Automate > Batch
10. For Action: select the action you created.
11. Source: Folder, then click on Choose... and navigate to your folder of large images.
12. Destination: Folder, then click Choose... and navigate to your empty folder for smaller files.
13. Click OK and watch Photoshop do all the work!

Good answer by bluelobster.

Go to File–>Scripts–>Image Processor

Pretty straightforward.

Good overview here:
I can't post links yet, but google this:
How to Quickly Make Many Pictures Smaller/Reduce File Size in Adobe Photoshop CS5 By Willie Pena On March 4, 2012

Can be combined with bluelobster's instructions, as there's an actions option at the end.

Last edited by a moderator: