What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to add two fades on two different sides?

Windows7

Power User
Hi guys,

Yep i'm still a newbie.. :) but i've got a big problem where i stuck with a very long time and that is that i add a layer mask and then a gradient tool to fade in(on the affiche/flyer).. but then i add a new layer mask to make another DIFFERENT fade on the other side of the pic but it don't work... then the first fade dissappear and vice versa... .

Can someone tell me please how to solve this problem?

Here an image:

Naamloos99.jpg

Look good to the fade on the left side.. that is what i want on the ride side too..

Last edited:
The second mask on the same layer is a vector mask.... Duplicate that first layer with the mask on it and put a gradient from the other side.

The second mask on the same layer is a vector mask.... Duplicate that first layer with the mask on it and put a gradient from the other side.

Not the same I know, but you can come close to that by simply adding a feathered mask against a white layer, enter delete and you have similar look.

It don't work man.. weird but then the first fade dissappears.. :s:s:s

Here's the proof:

Naamloos99.jpg

Not the same I know, but you can come close to that by simply adding a feathered mask against a white layer, enter delete and you have similar look.

How do i add a feather mask?

Last edited:
Use a black to transparent gradient on the layer mask it should work perfect for you from each side.

Here is an example of a feathered mask being used for a photo border. I didn't get it even but you'll get the idea.