What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Image up-rez'ing (scaling, interpolation), dimensions and short run printing

photosnob

My system: Windows 7 64bit and Photoshop CS2.

Background: I got 1,000+ cartoon like images to print on a A4 format paper.

The original pictures only have 150dpi so I up scaled some samples by only changing the resolution to 300dpi plus I made some little manual enlarging to make the picture fit in a A4 document.
I will load these pictures in Microsoft Publisher and create brochures like documents so I can use the printer's automatic duplex function and save time.

Since: 1) this is a huge work; 2) I've no experience working at this level with an image editor; I would like to ask, am I doing the right thing??
I read a comment from another thread (cartoon like picture) where a member advised to use Bicubic Smoother instead the Bicubic setting I used on a sample, why this choice?
I already printed a final sample on a A4 sheet on both sides and I think that it looks good enough for a cartoon style kid book even so it'll be for an adult. :p
The printer's driver offers the choice of auto fit the picture in the preview plus the final print has a nice 5mm white border all around without cutting anything from the original picture.

Could anyone please advice me?

Original.jpgUpscaled.jpg

Tom Mann

Guru
Doing a separate up-scaling (aka, up-rez'ing) step in may not produce results all that much better than simply letting your printer driver handle the re-sizing to fill the printed page.

Before you commit to all that extra work in PS, you should do some experiments where you compare the results with and without the PS up-rez'ing step.