What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Getting blue out of car reflections

naru

Is there a way to take out the blue from black car bodies or any other color cars but keep the depth of the color.

Hiya Naru,

You could try a Colour Balance Adjustment layer.
If you have a sample, I could be more specific.

Al.

Al

Thanks for the reply. I am new to this so I am not sure how I can send an image. I have used what you suggested by shifting to more yellow on a layer and then used the eraser tool to put back colors everywhere except the body but somehow it loses the contract crunch. I have also tried selective color taking out the blue and replacing color too but it then becomes a little grainy in the graduation. I then tried blurring but somehow the digital image is not as clean as if I had shot film. If I print a 12' image I can see the breakup. I am shooting on a Fuji S1 Pro on jpeg format rather than tiffs as these are for the web. naruphotography.net for samples

thank you
naru

Hi Naru,

Yeah it would be nice to see an example. But one method I use
on occasion which works well (depending, of course). Is use the
Image/Adjustment/Replace Color tool. There you can use the eye dropper on your photo to pick up the color range you wish to alter/change or delete. And use the top slider to make sure it's only picking those areas. Then you can use the adjustment sliders at the bottom to changes it hue, desaturate, etc.

Another tool, which would be more accurate, but does require a little more patience is the Selective Color tool in the same menu as above. There you can actually tweak all colors(and how much each shifts) and eliminate the blues from the dark areas....