What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to make his body closer to mine

jessie_m

Hello,
I have tried editing this photo myself, I am still learning. I tried using the cut out method but I cannot do it myself. I want the person on the right hand side (the man with glasses) to be closer to me and cover part of my coat. If anyone takes up this task can you please give me a step by step or general instructions of how you did it as I am trying vey hard to learn these skills.

Attachments

• DCCD529D-CC27-481A-846E-6AA103F9660E.jpeg
    DCCD529D-CC27-481A-846E-6AA103F9660E.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 15
Something like this?

Attachments

• DCCD529D-CC27-481A-846E-6AA103F9660E.jpgb.jpg
    DCCD529D-CC27-481A-846E-6AA103F9660E.jpgb.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 10
This is what I obtained in the end...:
1422-After-DCCD529D-CC27-481A-846E-6AA103F9660E.jpg
...and this is how I approached it:
1) Make a copy of the background layer
2) Set about to select out the guy with glasses on. Many selection methods are available but I chose the "Quick Selection Tool" to start with and got a rough selection like this:
1.png
As you can see, there are lots of areas like near his Right Jeans pocket, his Right knee, the fold near his tummy, his ears, hair, etc that need a careful selection. Hence I proceed with the Quick Mask (enter Quick Mask Mode by pressing shortcut key Q). Depicted below is the Quick Mask Mode and the areas that I would like to target with better selection:
2.png