What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Layers basics

SkiGuy401

First of all I want to say hi and I think this is one of the best Photoshop web sites.
I am a newbie to Photoshop so I know very little. I think what holds me back from going on is that, even though I can grasp the concept of layers, I can't seem to use it correctly. Is there a web site or can someone here tell me the basic how to's of layers (how to make a layer active, etc)?
I apologize if this has been posted here already, I just started and haven't read all that much yet?

SkiGuy401 .. firstly welcome, now for your question on layers .. probably the best answer is have a look at the Keepers site and tackle the tutorials he has at beginner level and intermediate ... and if you get stuck on any part of the tutes post the problem here 'cos there's a heap of help available ... that's the way I solved my problems of confusion with the differences of Photoshop and hopefully it helps you :) ... btw, just in case you came straight to PSG and not through the Keepers site here is the url ... http://www.photoshopgurus.info/

You can also get straight to the site by clicking the header logo on any Forum page. ;)

Welcome SkiGuy, hope you enjoy your stay. :perfect:

duh!! [oops] ... I learnt something :) ... so much to know and so little time [innocent]

Welcome SkiGuy401

I think the best way to tackle the concept and use of layers is as Namvet says, by trying out different tutorials. You can find tutorials all over the web. They can help you understand how to use layers for different purposes and effects.

I hope to see some of you work in the future.

Sanby

Welcome aboard SkiGuy