What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

stacked layers 2

zoonose

Sorry for the mushy post. OK, I made 2 files in Ultrafractal, one with 3 layers, one with 4 layers and saved them as x.psd and y.psd. Now I go to PS and open x.psd. 3 layers show up in the pallete and everything is OK. Now I open y.psd and 4 layers show up and the x.psd with 3 layers disappear. My Q is :how do I combine the x.psd and y.psd into one file in PS with 7 layers? I am a newbie when it comes to PS so please have patience. Thanks.

Open X and Y and put them right next to each other. Pull layers from the layers pallette(the list on the bottom left) from X or Y(it doesnt matter) onto the canvas of X or Y. You can actually drag layers from the layers pallette from one doc onto another, which is not something i found out for a while, and has been very useful to me(especially when i want to save a layer, and also go back to a very early history state)...hope this helps....

I`ve never used Ultrafractal before, so I`m just shooting in the dark, here, but try opening x.psd, and Go File>>Save As and change the filename. (Or maybe duplicate it). Then open y.psd.

Who knows. it`s crazy enough it just might work.
[confused]

Hey, cool! I didn't know about 'dragging layers' either tranquil222! :perfect:

Welcome to the forum zoonose. :) As a 'newbie' to PS, you're sure to learn a lot right here! ;)

Thanks tranqui222 and all who replied. Dragging layers works like charm. It solved my problem. Thanks again.zoonose

Wendy You can drag layers. layer sets, styles and adjustment layers between any two open photoshop files.

Al

:D B7 This info does delight me! ;) :perfect: