What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Strange Behavior in Layers Panel


Rich54

Guru
Guru
Messages
2,016
Likes
3,883
I've been using PS version 27.7.0 for a few months with no issues. But an odd thing has now happened twice in a few days and I can't figure out why. It just happened again with this file.

My normal PS desktop has the Adjustments panel docked to the upper right and the Layer/Path/Channel panels docked immediately below, as in the first image. Yet somehow, when I open random (different) files, the Layer/Path/Channel panel sometimes collapses down to the bottom, as shown in image 2. In the collapsed state, I thought that I could simply grab the top border of the panel and drag it upward to restore its size, but that doesn't work. I also thought the panels had somehow become undocked, but that doesn't seem to be the case, either. Not knowing what to do, I double-clicked on the collapsed panels, which magically restored them. But I have no idea why that worked.

Any ideas on what this might be?

Rich


1792106373938.png

1792106416324.png
 
Have you tried saving your Workspace?

Window > Workspace > New Workspace - 🗹 Check 3 options under the Capture box and save the workspace with a new name.

You can also Lock Workspace to prevent panels from being accidentally moved, dragged, or undocked.
Go to Window > Workspace > Lock Workspace
 
Other possible reasons/solutions could be -

1. Changing display resolution or scaling -
if Photoshop is launched on a lower-resolution monitor/laptop screen where scaling is set to 100%, and then switch to a higher resolution where display scaling is 150%.

2 .Turn off Large Tabs and Ui scaling -
Edit > Preferences > Workspace - uncheck - Large tabs and Align UI according to OS settings.

3. Auto-Collapse Iconic Panels Setting -
Edit > Preferences > Workspace and uncheck Auto-Collapse Iconic Panels

3. Corrupted Workspace or Preferences File -
Delete current workspace and create a fresh one - Window > Workspace > New Workspace
Reset Photoshop preferences - hold Ctrl + Alt + Shift and launch photoshop
 

Back
Top