What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Work in Progress Advice please... something's wrong but I'm not sure what...

Dabbler

Hi guys

I'm putting together a scene and so far it's going ok (thank goodness it's in greyscale) but I've hit a bit of a wall.
I can tell something's wrong (especially with the tap-dancing dude) but I'm not sure what it is, let alone how to fix it.

Any thoughts or advice? I'm a rank amateur at Photoshop (and artwork in general actually) so any help is welcome...

Cheers
Richard
View attachment GirderMen.png

There are lots of good things about the composite work done so far, but I will only deal with some improvements that I saw on first viewing.
1.png
1) Cut outs of the suspension work needs improvement.
2) Usually there are at least two shadows to a sitting person - one darker set of shadows close to the body and another set of shadows that go beyond. Here, the first set of shadows are missing, which is why the body appears to be 'floating'.
3) Proportional to the sharp shadow cast, there is no suitable light falling on the body that would illuminate the leg.
4) the wording "Essex House" in the background appears to be a mirror image.
Shadows in realty are gradients that are very intense at places where a body meets ground and the intensity decreases as the shadow travels away from the body. This episode of Phlearn deals with the aspect well. The Left leg of the tap dancing guy needs a good shadow too.

I must appreciate you on the great work done so far. Please post updates.

Beside the technical aspect commented by @polarwoc there are composition issues...
- The light is off and/or not pronounced enough