What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need creative & technical advice for compositing

_alexbrandt_

Hey there,

So I'm working on a composition. I've got essentially two images composited together. One on top and one on bottom.
This is my first attempt to do this in PS...

What would be a good way to smoothen the transition between top and bottom ?
Should I separate the top image in a few different layers, for foreground, and background (so I can better fade the background) while keeping the foreground nice and visible ?

Screen Shot 2019-01-31 at 17.58.29.jpg

sousou707

I think it would look better without the mountain in the back. Also, the background is more in a golden color and the foreground is more greenish-blue. So, I think it would look more realistic and professional if it matched just a bit more. Other than that, the picture looks good and great idea!

What sousou707 suggested is very good.

1. Straighten the upside-down City layer, and enlarge it. Desaturate the colors a little. Move the layer down to the lake.
2. On the main image you might have to fill in some parts of bright the sky with the clonestamp tool. Darken the mountains with the curve tool.
3. Desaturate the lake and the dark foreground to get rid of the blue and greenish tint.
4. Open the curves tool. switch to the red chanel and change the curve in this chanel to get more brownish colors.
5. The 2 image layers now blend nicely. The result should be similar to my posted image.

Good luck with your great composite!

Screen Shot 2019-01-31 at 17.58.29chrisdesign.jpg

Last edited:

_alexbrandt_

What sousou707 suggested is very good.