What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Planespotting

zsoltiforgacs

Dear Members!

I'm a beginner aviation spotter. I use Lightroom for edit my photos. Now I have a problem, and I think I will need PS to fix this problem. After a spotting tour I saw the following problem with the photos. ( The lens is not mine, so I can't see the problem forward).
How can I fix the spots on the sky? These are not just a dust spot which can remove in Lightroom. Would you be so kind to help me anybody step by step? Thank you!howtofixit.png

Hi zsoltiforgacs
I think you can get a better result in photoshop with the better selecting masking capabilities where one can even replace the sky totally.
However, from withing lightroom, you can take an approach with the adjustment brush.
Set just the texture and clarity sliders all the way to the left and brush over the sky area with auto mask check box on. In the image below I did a very very very rough brushing of the sky and then applied the adjustment brush a second time.

More work would be needed to get exactly what you want with colors etc yet this is to show the feasibility of correcting the spotting.
Hope this idea gives you something to consider.
John Wheeler

Plane-spotting-adj.png

the problem of stains is not optical unfortunately the sensor has been badly cleaned my advice and take it to some assistance to get it cleaned well.

@zsoltiforgacs Welcome onboard onto the PSG forum.

Initial thoughts before attempting the work ahead:
Most of the spots are in the sky above and they are not present on the plane or ground. Also noting that the sky has no features except a fade from dark blue at the bottom to lighter blue on top.