What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Specific Help with a restoration

Farmer121

Hello all, I’m fairly new to Photoshop but am attempting to restore a photo for a friend.

The photo is the only one that she has of her father and is literally falling apart.

I have no idea how to tackle the hair.
What I have done so far I know is not amazing but it’s an honest attempt :)
I’ve included the original, a side by side and where it stands now.
Cheers,

F83AAB6D-AEE4-477F-BD1E-8923E23974A4.jpeg

360818A2-B69B-4AD6-B384-DCB111C38D22.jpeg

6DFA8D19-CD42-46AF-80B3-AB9D150E9EB2.jpeg

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
This is a difficult restoration that would challenge even the best! Probably not a great one to start off with! LOL!! Getting good results on such a damaged image would frustrate even the most seasoned restorer.

The first thing I see is that you have blurred or "muddied" the original images clarity and definition, like you added a filter/blur or something.

Before...
Screen Shot 2020-01-07 at 10.38.28 AM.png

After...
Screen Shot 2020-01-07 at 10.38.38 AM.png

I realize there was a lot of damaged area in the hair and you used a ton of cloning to clean it up. The fathers hair is muddied/blurred and off color. This is why the hair is lacking in definition in the after version. But so much of restoration requires the use of other tools besides the Clone Stamp Tool. You will need some degree of painting or replacement skills in these very damaged photos in order to reconstruct what's missing. In this case, I would have to painted back the hair texture..............but this is fairly easy for me and maybe not for you.