What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Re-saving JPG

adrjork

Hi everyone, newbie here.

Does re-saving JPG changing DPI value (no re-samp) get worse the image quality? (Re-compresses JPG?)
I saved a JPG in Photoshop (quality 12 from an original PSD). It's 1200 DPI 5000x3000 px, without copyright infos saved.
Later I decide I want to add copyright infos but I haven't more the original PSD, so I open again my JPG in Photoshop, add the copyright, and save.
Later again, I decide I want to change the DPI value without resampling, so I re-open my JPG, set 266 DPI in Image Size maintaining 5000x3000 px, and save.

Question: since I re-saved my JPG twice, does it mean that I re-compressed my JPG twice as well? Does it mean the quality of the original JPG is now worsened?

Thanks in advance.

thebestcpu

Guru
Hi everyone, newbie here.

Does re-saving JPG changing DPI value (no re-samp) get worse the image quality? (Re-compresses JPG?)
I saved a JPG in Photoshop (quality 12 from an original PSD). It's 1200 DPI 5000x3000 px, without copyright infos saved.
Later I decide I want to add copyright infos but I haven't more the original PSD, so I open again my JPG in Photoshop, add the copyright, and save.
Later again, I decide I want to change the DPI value without resampling, so I re-open my JPG, set 266 DPI in Image Size maintaining 5000x3000 px, and save.

Question: since I re-saved my JPG twice, does it mean that I re-compressed my JPG twice as well? Does it mean the quality of the original JPG is now worsened?

Thanks in advance.

Hi @adrjork
Good question and I did not know the answer.