What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need Advice Editing Blowouts

photoscoo

Hello,

I am by no means an expert with photoshop, but I am very familiar with the program and can usually accomplish what I am trying to do.

This one is kicking my backside though. Maybe I am approaching it the wrong way. (I decided to select the blowouts - paste them into a new layer - and then adjust the rest of the image)

As you can see, I am not getting anywhere. The selections are a problem for me.

max_soda_fountain_unedited_scan_resized1600.jpgmax_soda_fountain_test2_resized1600.jpg

nurgle

you should try and ass a softer edge to your selections, using Select- Modify, and they a possible combination of Smooth and feather. Also A gradient overlay on the foreground of the table.

the amount of smoothing and feathers is a personal preference. there is also the option of using blending modes on layers to lighten it, but that is another rabbit hole.

a small bit of editing a curves layer to darken up the grey shadows would not go Amis either. but that is more complex, and differences would be harder to show on the screen. and take some pro time.

then I selected the guy head ONLY. did the same then Brought up a Shadow/Highlight adjustment.. and got the end result, with a slight shift to remove the redness.. mind you this was a 'quickie' edit for me, for the purpose of answering you question.. I am normally (on my own files) far more complex.. and can spend ages. photoshop has too many options. deciding which one ist best is always up to the end retoucher.

regards, Sandy