What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Need help recreating a look

Andy Atone

woman on boat the tribute and girls on inner tube blended copy.jpg

Hi gang, I'm hoping one of you can help me figure out what technique I need to use to create the (blending/feathering/transition) effect used to link these images.

I'm new to Photoshop and I'm working in CS3. I've looked up all sorts of masking techniques and I can't find an exact match but I may be using the wrong terminology.

The attached file is only a 144 dpi version and I'm trying to recreate it as a 300 dpi; so I need to try and get as close a match as possible.

Thanks!

Im sure you could achieve it with putting a graident in between the pictures, and then a certain layer style would do the job. BUt im not sure about it in CS3, so here is what i would so:
Put the pictures next to each other as 3 different layers (in case of 3 pictures, if its x pictures then do x layers). Make sure one picture overlaps the other one by about 5-10 percent. And now mesusre the size of the overlapping part, and select a 50 or 75 percent circular erase brush with the radius half of what you measured, and then simply erase the overlapping picture down the edge of it. That should do the effect.

As far as the 144 dpi to 300 dpi version, im not sure if i understand you right, but basically the only was you would achieve that is by resizing the picture, which would lower the quality tho. If you dont mind that, then just create a new blank file with the pixel measurement of the original file, but with 300 dpi (in the settings), then copy and paste the original file into the new file and resize it until it fits. And then save.