What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Background edit

Dziga74

Premium Member
I need advice as to remove the logos in the background while maintaining the natural texture and lighting variances so it looks natural and not just a flat color. I'm not a novice but am self taught so I have some gaps in my knowledge. Please be as specific as possible. Thanks very much.

IMG_4234-gigapixel-low_res-scale-2_00x.jpg

Current versions of Photoshop (my version is very old) have a lot of new AI-assisted filters. There may very well be a button called "Remove Logos But Keep it Looking Natural", which will get you very far toward your goal. I don't have (or want) those and I'm not very familiar with what's new in Photoshop. That said, here are some thoughts for doing things more manually.

I think that if you tried something like the Clone Stamp over each individual logo, it would be a tedious nightmare and you'd have a very hard time matching all the tonal variations in the blue wall. Instead, my approach would be to make a careful selection of the two people (including Shatner's chair), isolate them on their own layer, and then rebuild a new blue wall below them.
  • Select the two men and put them on their own layer. This will be the top layer. Ignore their cast shadows for now.
  • On a new layer below that, sample the dark blue at the bottom of the wall and make that the foreground color. Then sample the lighter blue at the top and make that the background color. Use the gradient tool to drag-out a dark-to-light gradient from bottom to top.