What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Extreme changes in color between pc and my samsung galaxy

Tepazi

Hi, I'm a beginner on PS and I just started experimenting with logos,
I've made a simple one with a light orange background, and I've sent it by Gmail to my smartphone to see how it looks,
I have no idea why, but there are HUGE color differences in the background, what looks light orange on my PC, looks like strong, and a bit shiny orange on my smartphone...
Does anyone have an idea why is that? I'm sending a lot of photos by email from my pc to my smartphone and nothing like that ever happened...

I'm also attaching the logo here to see how it will turn out :)

Logo-Flores2.jpg

More than likely because the image does not have an associated profile.
When I open it up, this is the dialog I get:

1623428053660.png

What you want is the generally accepted sRGB pofile to get some consistency between screens.

Open your image in Photoshop again. If you get this dialog box, choose the 2nd option - Assign working RGB: sRGB IEC61966-2.1.

Then resave and now try to open it in your smartphone. The colors should be very similar with some differences due to the nature of the display.

If you have it saved as a PSD file - which you should always have after an edit - check to see what imgae format it's saved in by going to the bottom left
of the document window:

1623428535309.png
If you don't see the profile, click on the arrow to the right and choose Document Profile.

To change the profile, got the top menu bar and choose Edit - Assign Profile.

Now save and you have the image with an embedded profile.

Let us know how you do.

- Jeff

Last edited: