What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fireworks to Photoshop: difficult transition

Sundraw

I worked for years with Fireworks, mainly to produce web graphics, and although I am primarily a programmer, I felt myself comfortable with it. But now I decided that the time came to switch to Photoshop. The main reason is technical - I have to use PSD files - but also after a couple of experiments I understood that with Photoshop I will be able to do many more things, and to do them better.

So I downloaded a trial version of Photoshop CS4 and tried to do a basic piece of work in it. To my surprise, I was stuck from the very beginning. Tried to read a book, some online tutorials but they didn't help as the things on which I got stuck are much too basic. They would be a no-brainer in Fireworks. They are probably a no-brainer in Photoshop too but I have no idea how to achieve what I need.

So I thought maybe someone could resolve my difficulties in two words or perhaps direct me to a tutorial that would be basic enough for my level...

What I was trying to do is to mock up a screen of my future app. For this, I need to create a new file of a certain size, with a background of a certain color - say green. Then I want to somehow load other graphics (I would import them in Firefox) that currently exist as BMP files and place them in a certain way on the green background of the new file.