What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How to Insert a pic cut-out so's it looks part 'hidden' ?

abrogard

What I mean is I have a picture of a leafy shrub and I want to put like an 'Alice In Wonderland' little door in it. That door should be part masked by the leaves of the tree.

I'm totally new at Photoshop and I've only managed to get myself to where I can cut out the door from another pic and paste it onto the leafy shrub pic. It is inevitably totally in the foreground there. Not what I want. And I can't see how to readily fix it.

Can someone help, please?

:)

It sounds easy enough for a project. If you're just starting could be a little complicated. Do you have an image so we can see what you're doing or how about the PSD file can you compress that and upload it

As iDad stated this could get complicated. This is ONE way to accomplish this effect.

Open you Shrub and door image. Place the door image layer above the shrub image layer. Select/highlight the door image layer. Go to LAYER > LAYER MASK > HIDE ALL.

Next, hit the D key to set your fore and background colors to black and white default. Then select the BRUSH TOOL and use a soft brush brush set to the color white, to carefully remove the the unwanted leaves in front of the door. If you take too much with the brush, hit the X key to to change your foreground color to black and then paint the mistake back in. Hit the X key to go back to white.

bushdooor.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 8.50.53 AM.png

Last edited: