What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jpeg with included paths, why?

ZipedX

Power User
Hi Everyone!

I've been using Ps on and of for a few years now as a hobby so I'm somewhat able to find my way around it.

Now for the actual question:
Why would you include paths in a jpeg?

Moreover why split it into several paths? I have a vague memory of paths beeing able to render for example a background transparent in say illustrator. Can that be it?
My reason for asking is that I work as a Digitalprinter operator and we have got a client that wants us to mask out objects in pictures and also in som cases separate them into paths.

I have got some suggestions that you could use paths in a layout program to make text flow around the path. However this seems strange in the examples I have got.

I've scaled down the example we got from the client and can post link to it after five post :cry:. Hopfully someone can send me an pm and help me out with this.

Meanwhile I'll go post somewhere until I can add the link accourding to the rules.
:)

Thank you for your time.

I am not sure you are making yourself clear -- to me that is. I try not to read too fast, but . . .

It also sounds like you are asking two questions or a question and an issue statement.

Well as to the jpeg. You can take a jpeg, bg and all, add a path to it, save it as the same jpeg and Photoshop will save the path without requiring you to save a psd. That keeps your file small if you need, and allows you to save the labor if you want to go back in and use the path for selections at a later time.

There may be other reasons and more technical reasons intended by the authors, but that is how I use them.