What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Packaging design - Noobie question

puraidodes

Could someone please explain this to me?
I'm a bit confused since I'm new at this. I'm skilled in design, but I'm a beginner in print and packaging.
I understand the basics of cut and die lines, bleed, safe, the gluing regions, but I'm not sure where to measure the length, width, and height.
Are the measurements provided for individual sides or for the entire package? In my previous designs, the measurements were clearly specified for each side and flap, unlike this.
I'm feeling a bit lost here. Unfortunately, I can't decline this task. Could someone explain it a bit further? Thanks!

400g.jpg

As someone who worked in sales and production of custom packaging, I would first give a description of what the box is, ie folded 4-sided tube with end flaps. Then I would give an overall flat size and then finished size. Provide a diagram with measurements of each panel. Indicate if any flaps are glued.
Vendor may make some incremental changes based on material, ie folding board vs corrugated. Ask for a prototype for final approval before finalizing die.

Similar to yours and what I described above. The flap sizes in this template ate determined by the finished box size.
Let me know if you have any questions or would like me to take a look at your finished diagram
- Jeff
Screenshot_20231012_144849_Google.jpg

Okay, thanks for the explanation.
So, the designed size is not always the accurate final size? Should I make room for that in bleed because of the material used?
Btw, for now, they are looking for a mockup.