What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pennant Style Text?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RJSim

I've been using Photoshop for 8+ years and can't seem to get the effect I want that is editable. I'm creating some pennants and want to create the text effect seen in these pennants:

toronto-maple-leafs-vintage-pennant-3336613.jpg
3916670103_1d32438b46.jpg

I've tried Skewing it but it changes the perspective and doesn't look right... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Smokey2011

the only way i know how to do this is to rasterize the layer that the text is on (layer/rasterize/layer) and then go to edit/transform/perspective

the problem here is that the text can no longer be changed to a different word when you do this

maybe someone knows of a better method

jaysuess

Type your text, make the layer into a Smart Object. Perform the perspective move on the Smart Object. If you want to change the word, double-click the Smart Object which will open a window with the original word un-skewed, retype and save. Or even better, do this edit in Illustrator.

dv8_fx

Retired Administrator
LOL....

You've been beating me to the punch, jaysuess... change of plans No. 3... lol...

Or you could try this.

Don't rasterize the text.

Apply Transform>Warp>Squeeze.... Set the bend to 0 to unsqeeze it.

Pennant1.jpg

Set the Horizontal Distortion to + or -50 (depends on the direction of your pennant) . Hit Enter....

Pennant2.jpg

So many ways... lol....

RJSim

Really, that's all? Man, I've been searching and tweaking for days. Thanks for all the help!

SCTRWD

Power User
Very interesting question!:cheesygrin: