What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Seggregating a picture into two

tmbabu_78

Hello evryone!

I am new to this forum. I have little knowledge on photoshop. Now coming to the point, I have attached the picture inwhich I would like to get that "lady and gentleman with the wire" as a separate picture. I wish to create a flash with the background sky moving despite their communication. Hence I tried to extract it, but the boundary/edge of the pictures looked ugly.

Kindly suggest me a way for this!

Lakhs of thnx,
T.Murugesh Babu

Hi tmbabu_78 and welcome to the forum. :)

Everyone has their 'favourite' method of 'extracting' parts of a photo and yes, generally speaking, the 'extract tool' works great. However, in this case, it could be that the image is too small and you weren't using a small enough brush? Is this the actual size of the image? [confused]

Whatever... apart from the pen tool (which is your most precise method of selection), I would try applying a mask. Whatever method use choose to make your selection (i.e. magic wand, magnetic lasso, color range, etc.) you're going to have to do a fair bit of handpainting on the layer mask to get rid of the excess selection because the image is a sillhouette. :\

Enjoy your time on the board and good luck with your project! ;) Consider it a basic 'learning experience'! :D

Hi tmbabu_78 and welcome to the board - I hope you enjoy your time here. It would be good to see how you fair with this project. Maybe you can post some results when you are done. Good luck !! :D