What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

White Noise

relssek

I'm not a photoshop expert, but I get by, How would you hanlde this white noise specially in the dark areas. I did not get anywhere with noise filtering, i need a more complex technique. Anyone as an angle to takle this?1920_January_30_10_32.jpg

1. From the original image I chose the best channel (red channel), and cpoy/pasted it into the blue channel and into the green channel.
2. The result is a good and clean black+white looking RGB image.
3. On your final image I made a selection of all the colored parts and put them on a new layer.
4. I selected the black+white image and put it on a new layer .
5. Final little adjustments where applied using curves and color correction.
And I used the spot-healing brush on the mens trousers.

Here is my result.

1920_January_30_10_32chris.jpgBildschirmfoto 2021-02-01 um 20.28.38.png

Last edited:

thebestcpu

Guru
HI @relssek
I really think @chrisdesign's results are excellent.

My thoughts are about the starting image.
1) The image you shared on the forum is a highly compressed JPEG (lossy compression). I hope you had a better starting image yet if this was your actual starting image, getting a scan made to PNG or TIFF without a lossy compression would be an important step.

2) I don't know if you have access to the original, yet sometimes the blacks for some images are in really bad shape due to silvering caused by aging of certain photographs. If you have the original image, there are some techniques to eek out some better detail to begin with before the post processing. This usually helps with the overall end result. Some techniques that can work with silvering are