What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Make transparent areas white.

IsaCreative

Hey guys, newbie here, and I've got a newbie-type question.

If I've got an image with a subject in it. the subject has some transparency and the background is also transparent.

How can firstly select all the transparent areas inside of the subject excluding the background area.. and then turn the selected areas inside the subject to white?

I have done some searching and found that I can select all the transparency areas in my image by going to

1.select menu
2.load selection
3.layer 1 transparency
4. ticking invert option

this gives me all the transparent areas on my image but from here I've no clue how to
A.deselect the background areas
b.send to new layer if necessary
B.turn the selection to white

please view the attached image to gain a better understanding of what I mean..

I know this will be an easy fix for some gurus on here... also would be interested to know how I could turn the process into an automated script. but Im probably way ahead of myself there..

thanks in advance gang.:):thumbsup:

Screen Shot 2021-07-03 at 3.00.21 PM.png

thebestcpu

Guru
If you are trying to automate this process then I have a question.
Do the images extend further out so they are completely surround by transparent pixels or do some of the outlines touch the boundary?
John Wheeler

thebestcpu

Guru
Here is an approach that should work in an Action

For this to work the subject needs to have a complete black border.