What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help needed, I was asked to design for can drink, what should i focus on?

BrennanH

Hi all members,

I was asked to design a layout for can drink to be printed for production, and this is my very first time of doing this, I've had no experience in designing a can drink (aluminium can), so what aspects should I be caution or focus on, is there any other guidelines? I tried google, but all I can find is the tutorial of designing, but I need to know what things to be considered when designing for a can drink going for production, such as the real practicality of printing in CMYK.

Some doubts:
1. Should i use monotone for every vector, or can I apply gradient effects on the vectors? can I use other effects as well, such as outer glow, blur etc which probably requires toning and gradual change of colour from dark to light?

2. I was instructed not to use more than 8 pantone colours (Max: 8 colours), so how am I going to count gradient colours? As one, or many colours?

3. I was given a few images to be inserted in the design, but the images are in high dpi captured photos of real things, should I flattened the colours and convert it into vectors?
-For example, I got an image of high resolution of strawberries, if I didnt flatten the colours, can the image be printed on the can drink nicely and accordingly?

4. If I use pen tools to draw in Photoshop, then colour it, does that considered as vectors, or must I draw in Adobe Illustrator in order to create vectors?

5. I know Adobe Illustrator is used for creating vector, but I dont have the software and experience in using it, can Photoshop does that?