What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Help w/ prints

Mookie

Hey everyone, first off, I wanted to say this place seems awesome. Browsed for quite some time and have got many tips off of here. Thanks for the experts that contribute.

I am kind of new to PS. Been using it for about two years and am completely self-taught. One thing I have never tried is printing large images from a PSed pic. I have a 20x16 frame that I wanted to make a collage for. Now my question is, when I create a document in PS for this, what size should I create it as?? I didn't know if I could do a standard page (8.5 x 11 I think) and just ask Walgreen's or wherever to blow it up or if that would make it look bad. Should I just make a 20 x 16 canvas?

I have tried and looked numerous places for this answer and have came up empty which is why I am now posting instead of my usual lurking.

Thanks for the info anyone may have in order to help resolve this inquiry!!

if going to print always try to have the image resolution at 300 ppi or better

Keep the document 20x16, you never want to 'blow up' a picture. All the hard work you put into your project to make it perfect will not be noticed if you blow it up especially seeing as how those dimensions arent proportionally the same, so you will get either a stretched or cut-off result.

I would add 1/4" to each side tho for bleed.