What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

My introduction (and some help?)

James Lamont

Hi everyone

My name is James. I'm a keen amateur photographer and mountaineer from Scotland.

I've always played around with photoshop and watched some youtube videos but recently I've been trying to get more into it. My non-arty brain struggles sometimes when I see some of the amazing pictures that people have created/edited.

I've been playing around all morning with a photograph I took and I can't seem to stop it looking 'fake' :(

I was really wanting to highlight the light shaft and darken the sky to make the light shaft pop out.

I've attached a copy of the photograph and was wondering if maybe any photoshop gurus out there could have a quick "edit" of the picture and see what you could come up with and then maybe I could spend the rest of the day trying to copy it!

A bit unusual I know but I prefer to learn 'hands on' rather than watching youtube videos!

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_1605 Resized.jpg
    IMG_1605 Resized.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 2
Hi James and welcome to the forum.
Try his.

1.png 2.png IMG_1605 Resized chrisdesign.jpg
Make a selection and fill it with white on a new layer. Change the Layer mode to Overlay, reduce the opacity to 80%, and add Gaussian blur 30.
Then add a vignette layer. Make an oval selection, invert this selection, fill it with black. Change the layer mode to multiply. Reduce opacity to 40%. Add Gaussian blur 50 pixel.

4.png

Last edited: