What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

[Help] Automated Clean 1 Pixel Lines?

AlcopopStar

Hello Forum!

I'm a pixel artist, and I enjoy sketching with the pencil tool in Photoshop, the issue being I spend a lot of my time cleaning lines, in particular I spend a lot of time getting rid of the blocky bits of the linework that tends to crop of with fluid use of the pencil tool.

I did a quick messy sketch and manual cleanup to show what I mean.
tumblr_nsagych2Zm1u3fa1zo3_500.gif
tumblr_nsagych2Zm1u3fa1zo2_250.pngtumblr_nsagych2Zm1u3fa1zo1_250.png

You can imagine, especially when I go a little larger (which is uncommon for pixel art but something i'm interested in) how long it takes to clean these works.

I'm pretty proficient with Photoshop but I can't figure out a way to treat the lines, I've tried messing with brush presets and actions, but nothing has worked.

Does anyone know a way that would speed up the cleaning process. Is there any way to automate this? Am I kidding myself?

It doesn't need to be perfect, any tips or tricks would help.

Thanks in advance!

Tom Mann

Guru
My first thought was about applying dilation / erosion morphological operators on your pixel grid, but rapidly convinced myself that these wouldn't work, at least in a simple form.

At this point, the only way I can think of automatically cleaning up such pixels is by writing a little program that has specific rules to detect what we perceive of as stray pixels, and then delete them. For example the rules could look something like this: