What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Make an image appear partially inside and partially outside a frame or other shape

Hi all I am completely new to all of this, and there probably is a thread already, but can you please help me??

How can I add an image in a shape? like this one?

I appreciate all help, and sorry if its been shown before.

photoshophelp.jpg

Thank you

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello Darren and welcome to PSG.

You may have to be a little more specific, you have typed "shape". There are several shapes in this image.

Adding the shapes is just a matter of creating new layers for each and then creating the shapes with one of the tools.

When I have more info I can show you more.

Thank you so much for replying - I would like to add a ''HEADSHOT'' on the TRIANGLE like in this picture.

Hello Darren and welcome to PSG.

You may have to be a little more specific, you have typed "shape". There are several shapes in this image.

Adding the shapes is just a matter of creating new layers for each and then creating the shapes with one of the tools.

When I have more info I can show you more.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Ok, show me the photo (headshot) you want to use.

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Never mind on posting the headshot.

Select your headshot, remove it's background.
Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 11.31.42 AM.png

On a new layer below the headshot, create a triangle. I used the Pen Tool.
Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 11.32.03 AM.png

Highlight the headshot layer.
Cmd/Cntrl + click the triangles thumnail to create a selection.
Screen Shot 2015-08-17 at 11.32.44 AM.png