What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Create a mask/marquee selection from an object/image?

Grudunza

Hi there. I'm relatively new to PS, having used Corel Photo-Paint for years. PS is much better in many respects, but there are a few tasks I was easily able to do in PP that I'm having trouble figuring out in PS. So I'll really appreciate your help.

Anyway, here's what I'm trying to do...

I have a large image, and I want to cut out pieces of that image that are in the shape of a different image. How do I get transparent PNG image to create a mask or marquee which I can then use to copy pieces from the larger image?

In Photo-Paint this was easily done using the "Create Mask from Object" function. You could select an object, then choose "create mask from object," which would highlight that object, then if you deleted that selected object, it would leave you with a mask that you could move around to capture parts of the image underneath the object. Presumably there are ways in PS to do that using the mask layers, right?

IamSam

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello and welcome to PSG.

Here are two ways.

One.
Create a selection of the object in your "different image".
Go to SELECT > SAVE SELECTION > give it a name.

Switch over to your "large image" document and got to SELECT > LOAD SELECTION > Under source document, choose the "different image" document and click OK.
You can drag a selection (marching ants) using one of Photoshop’s selection tools.
Once the selection is where you want it, click the "add layer mask" icon located at the bottom of the layers panel or go to LAYER > LAYER MASK > and choose hide or reveal all.

Two