What's new
Photoshop Gurus Forum

Welcome to Photoshop Gurus forum. Register a free account today to become a member! It's completely free. Once signed in, you'll enjoy an ad-free experience and be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Duplicating layers with different opacity problem

Instant

Hi,

I'm a portrait photographer and I have learned some new techniques that require me to make some adjustments/apply filters/etc, on a background duplicate layer and then to tone down the effect that I've created by lowering the opacity of that new layer. Then, the guy flattens the image and proceeds to the next step in his editing workflow.

The problem I have is that I absolutely hate flattening an image because once it's done, you can't go back and tweak it. Since the top layer is not 100% opacity, I cannot duplicate it and use it to continue without flattening.

Is there a way around this problem? I really want to work in a non-destructive way and be able to go back and change/tweak any of my different layers if need be.

Thank you very much for any help/pointers you can provide.

Best regards,

Instant

What workflow? ... Some people so much get used to use jpg format that they just flatern everything even without any actual need.
Don't knowing about details i can say how i handle that kind of problem.
First of all trying to work with TIFF or PSD (windows usually don't want to show thumbnail of it so i preffer TIFF).
With TIFF can save everthing (almost) all layers, all adjusments layers and so and on and what is very important for me it supports transparancy so there's almost no reason to make complicate and sharp path. And all flaterning is done by other soft when its come to output (for my case Indesign generate printable PDF).